IRWGS People

“Every generation confronts the task of choosing its past. Inheritances are chosen as much as they are passed on.``

Saidiya Hartman

IRWGS Staff

Patricia Dailey

Director
(212) 854-7437

Laura Ciolkowski

Associate Director
(212) 854-7374

Marianne Hirsch

Director of Graduate Studies
(212) 854-5121

Christia Mercer

Director of Undergraduate Studies
(212) 854-3190

Khadija Belly

Program Coordinator
(212) 854-1556

Visitors and PostDocs

Lisa Dwan

Visitor/Staff Associate

ld2804@columbia.edu

Selina Makana

Post-doctoral Research Fellow

sm4425@columbia.edu

Emerita

Alice Kessler-Harris

Executive Committee 2017-18

Lila Abu-Lughod

Branka

Branka Arsic

breger-new

Claudia Breger

Laura-Ciolkowski

Laura Ciolkowski

Julie-Crawford

Julie Crawford

Patricia-Dailey

Patricia Dailey

Y.-Ergas

Yasmine Ergas

Franke

Katherine Franke

Eileen-Gihooly

Eileen Gillooly

Jack-Halberstam

Jack Halberstam

Hallett

Hilary Hallett

Saidiya-Hartman

Saidiya Hartman

Jennifer-Hirsch

Jennifer Hirsch

Marianne-Hirsch

Marianne Hirsch

Ellie-Hisama

Ellie Hisama

G-Hockberg

Gil Hochberg

Jean-Howard

Jean Howard

Jakobson

Janet Jakobsen

Shamus

Shamus Khan

Ana-Paulina-Lee

Ana Paulina Lee

Tey-Meadow

Tey Meadow

Christia-Mercer

Christia Mercer

Negron

Frances Negrón-Muntaner

Alondra-Nelson

Alondra Nelson

Eliza-Zingesser

Eliza Zingesser

Affiliated Faculty

Adams, Rachel rea15@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Agard-Jones, Vanessa vanessa.agard-jones@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Arsic, Branka ba2406@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Bahrani, Zainab zb2101@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Bernstein, Elizabeth ebernste@barnard.edu BIOGRAPHY
Biers, Katherine klb2134@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Blount, Marcellus mb33@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Boynton, Susan slb184@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Breger, Claudia cb3328@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Campt, Tina tcampt@barnard.edu BIOGRAPHY
Castelli, Elizabeth ecastell@barnard.edu BIOGRAPHY
Chauncey, George gc2765@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Christianse, Yvette ychristi@barnard.edu BIOGRAPHY
Ciolkowski, Laura lec30@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Cohen, Jean jlc5@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Crawford, Julie jc830@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Dailey, Patricia pd2132@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
De Grazia, Victoria vd19@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Dobie, Madeleine mld2027@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Ergas, Yasmine ye36@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Ewing, Katherine ke2131@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Foley, Helene HF45@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Franke, Katherine kmf37@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Gaines, Jane jmg2196@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
George, Abosede ageorge@barnard.edu BIOGRAPHY
Gillooly, Eileen eg48@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Griffin, Farah fjg8@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Halberstam, Jack jh3641@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Hall, Kim khall@barnard.edu BIOGRAPHY
Hallett, Hilary hah2117@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Higonnet, Anne AHIGONNET@barnard.edu BIOGRAPHY
Hirsch, Jennifer jsh2124@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Hirsch, Marianne mh2349@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Hisama, Ellie eh2252@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Hochberg, Gil gh2472@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Hori, Hikari hh2104@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Howard, Jean jfh5@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Howell, Martha mch4@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Jakobsen, Janet jjakobse@barnard.edu BIOGRAPHY
Johnson, Eleanor ebj2117@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Jordan-Young, Rebecca ryoung@barnard.edu BIOGRAPHY
Kay, Laura LKay@barnard.edu BIOGRAPHY
Khan, Shamus sk2905@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Kia, Mana mk3586@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Klepfisz, Irena IKLEPFISZ@barnard.edu BIOGRAPHY
Knapp, Liza lk2180@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Ko, Dorothy dk2031@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Ladenson, Elisabeth eal1@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Leake, Elizabeth el2598@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Lean, Eugenia eyl2006@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Lee, Ana Paulina apl2147@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Lightfoot, Natasha nlightfoot@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Makana, Selina sm4425@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Marcus, Sharon sm2247@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
McCurry, Stephanie sm4041@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Meadow, Tey tey.meadow@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Mercer, Christia cm50@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Moody-Adams, Michele mm3735@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Morris, Rosalind rcm24@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Mukherjee, Debashree dm3154@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Nadasen, Premilla pnadasen@barnard.edu BIOGRAPHY
Negron-Muntaner, Frances fn2103@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Nelson, Alondra alondra.nelson@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Peters, Julie peters@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Phillips, Justin jhp2121@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Pizzigoni, Caterina cp2313@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Prettyman, Quandra qp1@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Rao, Anupama arao@barnard.edu BIOGRAPHY
Roberts, Samuel K. skroberts@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Robinson-Appels, John jr2168@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Sanger, Carol csanger@law.columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Simon, Barbara bls1@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Sorett, Josef js3119@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Spivak, Gayatri gcs4@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Sturm, Susan sps62@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Szell, Timea TSzell@barnard.edu BIOGRAPHY
Tadiar, Neferti Xina ntadiar@barnard.edu BIOGRAPHY
Thomas, Kendall kthomas@law.columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Tiersten, Lisa LTiersten@barnard.edu BIOGRAPHY
Tóibín, Colm ct2544@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Van Dyck, Karen krv1@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
von Mücke, Dorothea dev1@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Zingesser, Eliza ez2135@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY

2017 - 18 Grad Fellows

Syantani Chatterjee, Department of Anthropology

Erica Richardson, Department of English and Comparative Literature

IRWGS Student Assistants

Yasmin Butt CC’ 19

Ayann Haji CC’ 18

David Lee Henninger CC’ 18

Rebecca Magid CC’ 19

Nicole Valencia CC’ 18