skip to Main Content

IRWGS People

“Every generation confronts the task of choosing its past. Inheritances are chosen as much as they are passed on.``

Saidiya Hartman

IRWGS Staff

Jack Halberstam

Director
(212) 854-7437
Ryan Grubbs

Ryan Grubbs

Associate Director
(212) 854-7374

Khadija Belly

Program Administrator
(212) 854-1556

Saidiya Hartman

Director of Graduate Studies

Lila Abu-Lughod

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Visitors and PostDocs

Selina Makana

Post-doctoral Research Fellow

sm4425@columbia.edu

singhheadshotcirc

Julietta Singh

Visiting ACLS Burkhardt Fellow

jcs2275@columbia.edu

Clare Hemmings

Leverhulme International Visiting Professor

cvh2114@columbia.edu

Emerita

Alice Kessler-Harris

Executive Committee 2019-20

Lila Abu-Lughod

Vanessa-Agard-Jones

Vanessa Agard-Jones

breger-new

Claudia Breger

Castelli headshot

Elizabeth Castelli

Cruz profile 2016 full

Denise Cruz

Y.-Ergas

Yasmine Ergas

Franke

Katherine Franke

Eileen-Gihooly

Eileen Gillooly

guridycirc

Frank Guridy

Jack-Halberstam

Jack Halberstam

Saidiya-Hartman

Saidiya Hartman

Marianne-Hirsch

Marianne Hirsch

G-Hockberg

Gil Hochberg

horn

Maja Horn

Jean-Howard

Jean Howard

Jakobson

Janet Jakobsen

Shamus

Shamus Khan

Lydia Liu photo publicity

Lydia Liu

Selina-Makana

Selina Makana

mcurryheadshotcirc

Stephanie McCurry

Tey-Meadow

Tey Meadow

digital pub onlyIRWGS-Final-Stacked-PB

Manijeh Moradian

Negron

Frances Negrón-Muntaner

Povinelli

Beth Povinelli

robcis

Camille Robcis

westcircimage

Paige West

Affiliated Faculty

Adams, Rachel rea15@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Agard-Jones, Vanessa vanessa.agard-jones@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Arsic, Branka ba2406@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Bahrani, Zainab zb2101@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Bernstein, Elizabeth ebernste@barnard.edu BIOGRAPHY
Biers, Katherine klb2134@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Boynton, Susan slb184@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Breger, Claudia cb3328@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Castelli, Elizabeth ecastell@barnard.edu BIOGRAPHY
Chauncey, George gc2765@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Christianse, Yvette ychristi@barnard.edu BIOGRAPHY
Cohen, Jean jlc5@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Crawford, Julie jc830@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Cruz, Denise dc3330@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Dailey, Patricia pd2132@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
De Grazia, Victoria vd19@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Dobie, Madeleine mld2027@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Edlund, Lena le93@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Ergas, Yasmine ye36@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Ewing, Katherine ke2131@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Foley, Helene HF45@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Franke, Katherine kmf37@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Gaines, Jane jmg2196@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Gillooly, Eileen eg48@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Gregg, Ron rg3121@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Griffin, Farah fjg8@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Halberstam, Jack jh3641@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Hall, Kim khall@barnard.edu BIOGRAPHY
Hallett, Hilary hah2117@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Higonnet, Anne AHIGONNET@barnard.edu BIOGRAPHY
Hirsch, Jennifer jsh2124@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Hirsch, Marianne mh2349@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Hisama, Ellie eh2252@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Hochberg, Gil gh2472@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Hori, Hikari hh2104@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Howard, Jean jfh5@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Howell, Martha mch4@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Jakobsen, Janet jjakobse@barnard.edu BIOGRAPHY
Johnson, Eleanor ebj2117@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Jordan-Young, Rebecca ryoung@barnard.edu BIOGRAPHY
Kakkoufa, Nikolas nk2776@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Kay, Laura LKay@barnard.edu BIOGRAPHY
Khan, Shamus sk2905@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Kia, Mana mk3586@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Knapp, Liza lk2180@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Ko, Dorothy dk2031@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Ladenson, Elisabeth eal1@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Leake, Elizabeth el2598@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Lean, Eugenia eyl2006@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Lee, Ana Paulina apl2147@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Lightfoot, Natasha nlightfoot@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Makana, Selina sm4425@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Marcus, Sharon sm2247@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
McCurry, Stephanie sm4041@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Meadow, Tey tey.meadow@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Mercer, Christia cm50@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Moody-Adams, Michele mm3735@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Morris, Rosalind rcm24@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Mukherjee, Debashree dm3154@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Nadasen, Premilla pnadasen@barnard.edu BIOGRAPHY
Negron-Muntaner, Frances fn2103@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Peters, Julie peters@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Phillips, Justin jhp2121@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Pizzigoni, Caterina cp2313@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Prettyman, Quandra qp1@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Rao, Anupama arao@barnard.edu BIOGRAPHY
Robcis, Camille car2129@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Roberts, Samuel K. skroberts@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Rosner, Victoria vpr4@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Sanger, Carol csanger@law.columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Sharpe, Teresa ts2785@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Simon, Barbara bls1@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Sorett, Josef js3119@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Spivak, Gayatri gcs4@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Stephens, Rhiannon r.stephens@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Sturm, Susan sps62@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Szell, Timea TSzell@barnard.edu BIOGRAPHY
Tadiar, Neferti Xina ntadiar@barnard.edu BIOGRAPHY
Thomas, Kendall kthomas@law.columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Tiersten, Lisa LTiersten@barnard.edu BIOGRAPHY
Tóibín, Colm ct2544@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Winkler, Inga inga.winkler@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Van Dyck, Karen krv1@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
von Mücke, Dorothea dev1@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
Zingesser, Eliza ez2135@columbia.edu BIOGRAPHY
X